Hampshire ALC AGM Awards 2023

The seventy-sixth Hampshire Association of Local Council's Annual General Meeting was held on Saturday 4th November 2023, at the holiday Inn in Winchester. The meeting, which had a large attendance, heard from the Hampshire ALC President, Rt. Hon. John Denham FRSA, who focused his comments on the trends in the extension of devolution policy, and the pressure to build houses. Members adopted the Annual Report & Accounts, and agreed the proposed affiliation fees, before the presentation of Communications Awards.  The full list of winners were: 

Our winners and their categories are: 

Best Use of Social MediaWinner Bramshott and Liphook Parish Council   
Runner UpElvetham Heath Parish Council
Best Local Council Website   WinnerDenmead Parish Council 
Runner UpAshurst and Colbury Parish Council 
Best Local Council NewsletterWinner Sparsholt Parish Council 
Runner UpAllbrook Parish Council 
Hampshire Council of the YearWinnerSouth Wonston Parish Council 
Hampshire Clerk of the YearWinnerSue Bailey - Hythe and Dibden Parish Council
Runner UpAndrea Mann - Odiham Parish Council
Highly CommendedRachel Jones - South Wonston Parish Council

After the formalities, the meeting received a presentation from planning specialist, Steve Tilbury, who spoke about the current pressures facing planning authorities and the challenges which have arisen in the tension between national policy decisions and localism.